. Make a Donation

Index Page
About The Author
Bible Quiz
Holy Day Calendar
Free Online Bibles
Bible Reading Plan

Quick Search the thousands of Bible studies on this website.
Just type in topic word(s) or a question.
Get Daily Bible Study on Facebook
Get Daily Bible Study on Twitter

The Two Kingdoms

A dynasty can be defined as "a sequence of powerful leaders in the same family." The dynasty of King David and his son King Solomon ruled the united kingdom of Israelites until they split into two kingdoms, Israel and Judah, at the time of King Rehoboam. After the division, the dynasty of David continued unbroken in Judah, while there were nine dynasties in Israel.

The Two Kingdoms

King David leading The Ark The northern kingdom of Israel lasted just over 200 years before they were conquered and taken away into exile by the Assyrians. They never returned, and have become known to history as the "Lost Ten Tribes of Israel." See Ancient Empires - Assyria and Jews At War With Israel.

The northern kingdom of Israel had 9 dynasties, with a total of 19 kings:

1. Jeroboam, Nadab
2. Baasha, Elah
3. Zimri
4. Omri, Ahab, Ahaziah, Jehoram
5. Jehu, Jehoahaz, Joash, Jeroboam II, Zechariah
6. Shallum
7. Menahem, Pekahiah
8. Pekah
9. Hoshea

The southern kingdom of Judah lasted slightly over 300 years before they were conquered and taken into exile by the Babylonians under King Nebuchadnezzar. Unlike the northern kingdom however, a remnant of the southern kingdom was allowed to return and resettle Jerusalem in the time of Ezra and Nehemiah after the Babylonians were themselves conquered by the Persians under Cyrus the Great. Their descendants are known as the Jews of today.

The southern kingdom of Judah had only one dynasty, that of David, with a total of 19 kings and the temporary usurper Athaliah from the northern kingdom.

Kings of Israel and Judah

Kings of
Kings of
933 1 Rehoboam 1 Jeroboam I Division after Solomon
915 2 Abijah      
912 3 Asa      
911    2 Nadab   
910    3 Baasha   
887    4 Elah   
886    5 Zimri   
886    6 Omri   
875    7 Ahab   
874 4 Jehoshaphat      
855    8 Ahaziah   
854    9 Joram   
850 5 Jehoram      
843 6 Ahaziah 10 Jehu   
843 7 Athaliah    The only female ruler
843 8 Joash      
820    11 Jehoahaz   
806    12 Joash   
803 9 Amaziah      
790    13 Jeroboam II   
787 10 Uzziah      
749 11 Jotham      
748    14 Zechariah   
748    15 Shallum   
748    16 Menahem   
741 12 Ahaz      
738    17 Pekahiah   
738    18 Pekah   
730    19 Hoshea   
726 13 Hezekiah      
721       End of the northern kingdom.
697 14 Manasseh      
641 15 Amon      
639 16 Josiah      
608 17 Jehoahaz      
608 18 Jehoiakim      
597 19 Jehoiachin      
597 20 Zedekiah      
586       End of the southern kingdom.
* dates are approximate

Fact Finder: Was Jesus Christ of the line of King David?
Matthew 1:1-17

Bible Quiz Daily Bible Study Library
Thousands of Studies!

Jesus Christ
Bible History
Christian Living
Eternal Life
By The Book
Bible Places
The Spirit World


Copyright © Wayne Blank